The human skeleton is the internal framework of the body. it's composed of around 300 bones at birth – this total decreases to 206 bones by adulthood after some bones have fused together. The bone mass within the skeleton reaches maximum density around age 20.

The Human skeleton may be distributed into two parts, the skeletal structure which is that the central core of the body and therefore the skeletal structure which forms the extremities of the arms and legs.

The axial skeletal structure is the central core of the body housing and protecting its vital organs. The axial skeletal structure consists of 80 bones:

  • 29 bones within the head - (8 cranial and 14 facial bones) so also 7 associated bones (6 auditory ossicles and the Hyoid Bone)
  • 25 bones of the thorax - (the sternum and 24 ribs)
  • 26 bones within the spine (24 vertebrae, the sacrum, and therefore the coccyx)

Bones of the Appendicular skeleton:

  • 4 bones within the girdle (clavicle and scapula each side)
  • 6 bones within the arm and forearm (humerus, ulna, and radius)
  • 58 bones within the hands (carpals 16, metacarpals 10, phalanges 28 and sesamoid 4)
  • 2 pelvis bones
  • 8 bones within the legs (femur, tibia, patella, and fibula)
  • 56 bones within the feet (tarsals, metatarsals, phalanges, and sesamoid)

Read more: