Sangeetha Pulapaka

The zodiac is an egg shaped circle of space surrounding the earth. It may be imagined as a belt in the heavens about 12 degrees wide in which the planets travel. It is the Sun's apparent path that is called the ecliptic. The zodiacal circle is divided into twelve equal parts and each part containing thirty degrees of space called the signs of the zodiac, Thus a sign is one twelfth division of the zodiacal circle signs each measuring 30 degrees of celestial longitude. Twelve signs each measuring 30 degrees constitute the circle of the Zodiac or 360 degrees. In this circle the planets travel in its own orbit, one outlying beyond the other. The twelve signs of zodiac are

It is these twelve signs through which the planets travel from west to east, going through one sign after another in their order from Aries to Pisces. Each sign possesses a specific influence according to their seperate nature and position in the Zodiac.